Update on the Hanko

Hello!

So, it was requested that I post a picture of the hanko that I talked about in my earlier post…(too lazy to link right now…will do it later!)

So, here it is below:

My new signature

It is much smaller than I expected – tiny actually.  It says We-Su-To-N in katakana lettering.  I was able to purchase the adorable case for it (complete with ink pad) at the 100 yen shop (dollar store).  I have no idea what “Kawaii you and flower” is supposed to mean, but hey, it’s pretty and it cost a dollar.  I haven’t had the opportunity to use the hanko on any important documents just yet.  Mainly this is because no one will allow me to have any important documents.  Legally, if you are staying in Japan any longer than 90 days you have to apply for an Alien Registration Card.  (A lovely, welcoming, inclusive name, isn’t it?)  Most banks and places that work on contracts…cell phone companies, for example, will not let you sign up for an account without your ARC.  Even showing the application along with my passport got me nowhere.  My head teacher was with me and negotiating the whole process in Japanese, but no one wanted to bend the rules this time (they sometimes will, depending on the person you talk to).  So, for the first 3 weeks or so that I am in my new home city, I will not  have a bank account, or phone, or probably internet either.  It’s fine.  I have sooooo much to do with planning lessons, cleaning and organizing my apartment and finding my way around, that it’s probably better that I can’t Facebook at will.  I can write my blog entries at home and post them later, which saves me from paying an internet cafe for letting me sit there while I think about what to say.

One response to “Update on the Hanko

  1. Thanks for posting! (I’m just seeing this now) That’s pretty cool, hopefully you’re using it by now.

Leave a Reply

